Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Once upon a time, there was a kingdom named Norta, which was inhabited by people of two different bloods: red and silver. The reds are like regular humans, while the silvers possess supernatural powers that allow them to rule and terrorize the reds. Mare Barrow is a red who lives with her mother, father, three older brothers, and little sister. She supports her family by smuggling and stealing, and when getting caught one day stealing from a boy, she is instead given money. The next day, Mare is taken to the king’s palace and given a job as a service. Then, one day during her duties she becomes involved in an accident, and discovers a deadly power of her own, something capable of ending silver control.

I would rate this book a 3.5/5 because I really liked the action involved in the story, but I did not like the amount of romance that was in it because it stopped the story from progressing and was highly unnecessary. But I felt that this book captured social class conflict and courtroom life, and was very vivid with its descriptions of the story. While I was bored at some parts, I felt that this book was very immersive and the plot was easy to understand.

I would recommend this book to ages 13+ because there are some language and inappropriate parts. I also recommend this book to readers of fantasy and science fiction because I felt that this book combines both of these genres together.

Book Review by Sasi Valiveti

Gum Spring Library

Leave a comment