The Golden Tower by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

In the book Golden Tower, the last book of the Magisterium series, Callum is forced to deal with Alex Strike, a Devoured of Chaos that returns from the void with an army of his own, asking for Call and his friends to come as prisoners and causing a lot of problems for the world. Callum suddenly springs into action, as he is forced in a race against time to find a Devoured of each element in hopes of defeating Alex Strike. Him and his friends travel the world, while Call accesses the memories of the soul living inside of him to find out how exactly he must defeat a Devoured of Chaos. Call, while battling the villain and trying to save his friends, also finds out more of who he really is.

One thing I liked about this book was the action and suspense that kept me at the edge of my seat. One thing I thought that could’ve been better was that the book lacked sufficient description in some areas. I would recommend this book to any teenager because it contains fantasy, action, and romance that appeals to teens. Potential content/trigger warnings include death and violence. I read this series a couple years back, and it is still one of the best series’ I have ever read to this date; it is very similar to Harry Potter and very gripping.

Anirudh Balaji, Brambleton Library

Leave a comment